Sabotaging Greatness

I did not achieve most of what I set out to accomplish last week. I blew my diet completely, I didn’t write a single blog post, and I only got two (out of the four) job applications out.  I consider myself a fairly self aware person,  and I can easily identify the main things I do that lead to self-sabotage. “Things” is really a poor word to describe what I am doing. These are habits and choices that lead to self-sabotage, not things, and like all habits they are not easy to break. I’ve tried to come up with my top three sabotaging habits. They are:

  1. Surfing the Internet: I could have wrote a novel in the last six months with the amount of time I’ve spent aimlessly clicking around the net. In fact, I checked a few of my favorite technology blogs while writing this post, and I’ll most likely check them again in a minute. It’s information-heroin.
  2. Beer: I love geeking out with quality beer. I also love relaxing with a beer after work. If only I could resist ordering the large fries to compliment my pint. Oh, and I get lazy and unproductive when I have a beer- please refer to habits #1 and #3 for a point of reference.
  3. Television: What a bunch of garbage. Except for you, Snooki.

There is nothing inherently “bad” about these activities. They are fine (everybody say it now) in moderation, which we all know is not one of my strengths. It is crazy to imagine all of the time I could spend on rewarding activities, and the benefits I would get from doing so, if I could just break from these habits. The feeling of accomplishment I get when I’ve sent off a kick-ass cover letter.  The enjoyment I get from writing for pleasure. The boost of confidence and energy I get from living an active and healthy lifestyle. All of this could easily be mine. WTF, man! Get your act together.

Breaking these habits is going to be painfully hard. I’m not even sure if I can do it to be quite honest, especially giving up surfing the internet.  Here is my experiment- can I commit to one week of breaking  or modifying these habits? I’ve come up with a set of rules to keep me honest.

  • Net surfing only happens with my morning coffee.
  • No beer at home.
  • No television before 10pm.

I’m hating these rules, already.

What effect will following them have on my week? Will I really be more productive and healthy or will I just find new ways to sabotage? Why am I asking so many questions? And where is the remote control? This experiment doesn’t start until tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

