Recipe Review: Ketchup


I firmly believe that food is merely the vessel to get ketchup into my mouth. I’ve been known to guzzle a whole bottle with just one lonely tater tot. Unfortunately store bought ketchup, even if it’s organic and free of high fructose corn syrup, is loaded up with sugar and chemical preservatives. One of the first things I made sure I had locked down when I started eating paleo was having a solid ketchup plan. Enter Christie from CrossFit XLR8 and her recipe for paleo ketchup.

I love this recipe and I’ve made it at least a dozen times over the past few months.  It’s fantastic. Better than store bought- hands down.

I’ve tweaked the recipe ever so slightly by doubling it to feed my ketchup addiction and cutting the cooking time to feed my impatience addiction. The biggest change I made to it was kicking up the amount of vinegar to give it more zip and to act as a preservative (not that I need it last long).

Here is the Not in Moderation version of this fantastic recipe:

Get a sauce pan out and toss in the following ingredients:

  • 26oz strained tomatoes (I like the BPA-free Pomi brand that comes in a box)
  • 1/2 of a 4.5 oz tube double concentrated tomato paste
  • 3 tablespoons regular old vinegar 
  • 1.5 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon allspice
  • large pinch ground cloves 
Stir Occasionally and let it simmer just a few minutes
Transfer to repurposed jars
Cap
Cool
Fridge
Dump liberally on your expensive grass-fed steak
This entry was posted in Recipe Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Recipe Review: Ketchup

  1. alejandra says:

    how long will this be good for?

Leave a Reply

