Ryan Wilder’s Citrus Ginger Jerky

Ahoy! I'm Gus.

Meet Gus, my new food dehydrator.

Gus was a birthday gift from my lady. She hooked me up. Big time.

I’ve been messing around with the dehydrator a bunch and have been working on making a great jerky. The latest creation didn’t disappoint. My Citrus Ginger Jerky recipe is not overly salty or sweet. It has a deep meaty presence with just a hint of ginger, citrus, and teriyaki flavors.

I switched it up a bit from using a bottom round roast to a rib roast. It’s still an inexpensive lean cut, but has a little more fat and flavor. Cutting meat for jerky is a bit of a pain, so be sure to pop it in the freezer until it firms up for easier slicing. I have been asking the butcher to slice it for me because I am a lazy ass. If you do this I recommend asking for a thick bacon size slice. Don’t forget to wink at the butcher and call them “sweetie rump” when requesting this. Especially if they look like they might be a part of a gang.

Ryan Wilder’s Citrus Ginger Jerky

2 lbs Angus Beef Rib Roast – Sliced Thin
4 Limes – Juiced
1 Orange-  Juiced
½ cup Tamari or Coconut Aminos
1 tbls  Worcestershire (Optional)
1  Chunk of Ginger (about 1.5”) – Skinned and Sliced Extremely Thin **I use a vegetable peeler
3 Hot Peppers of Your Choosing – Diced
2 Cloves of Garlic Coarsely Chopped
 
 
  • Combine all ingredients in a ziploc bag and marinate at least 12 hours
  • Lay meat pieces on dehydrator trays without overlap
  • Turn heat to 160(ish) and dry for roughly 4 hours
  • Take off trays once jerky has reached desired texture

That’s it! Let me know how it turns out on your end.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ryan Wilder’s Citrus Ginger Jerky

  1. chowstalker says:

    Great recipe and great advice on dealing with the butcher. 🙂 Thanks for sharing this on Chowstalker! Look forward to more from you.

Leave a Reply

